ServSafe Manager Certification Classes

The Michigan Food Law, Act 92 of 2000 (PDF) requires food service establishments to have at least one manager certified in food safety. ServSafe, Prometric, or The National Registry of Food Safety Professionals certifications are all acceptable forms of certification. 

Michigan State University Extension partners with the Washtenaw County Environmental Health Division to teach ServSafe training courses. The ServSafe Manager Certification verifies that a manager or person-in-charge has sufficient food safety knowledge to protect the public from foodborne illness. 

To register for a ServSafe class, please visit the Michigan State University Extension website.

8-Hour ServSafe Manager Certification Course

You must pass the exam with a score of 75% or higher to receive your certificate. The ServSafe certification is good for 5 years.

Class Location

Western County Service Center
MSU Extension Classroom (on the basement level)
705 N Zeeb Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Class Dates

All classes run from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Lunch is on your own. You must attend all 8 hours of class to take the certification exam.

Fees & Course Book

Registration Fee: $75 - Register on the MSU website. This fee does not include the course book or exam answer sheet.

Book and Exam Fee: $70.30 (+ shipping) - You must purchase a ServSafe Manager Book 7th Edition with Exam Answer Sheet book before coming to class. The book must include the exam answer sheet, which you will need to take the exam. 

To purchase the book in person for $72.00, visit the Washtenaw County MSU Extension Office at 705 N. Zeeb Rd., Ann Arbor, MI 48103.