Mental Health Diversion

Mental Health Diversion Committee Objectives

  • Advise the CJCC of formal recommendations
  • Coordinate with Human Service Collaborative Council (HSCC) to seek input and endorsement from resident experts on pre-jail and post-jail mental health diversion

This Committee will use two strategies:

  • Identify and recommend how to fill gaps
  • Identify process and policy recommendations

Key Participants

  • Kathy Reynolds, Executive Director, WCHO
  • Scott Patton, CJCC Staff
  • Rick Visel, Director of Correctional Services
  • Donna Sabourin, Director, CSTS
  • Bill Birdsall, Professor Emeritus, UM School of Social Work
  • Steve Hiller, Deputy Chief Assistant Prosecutor
  • Hannele Waissi, Health Services Supervisor, CSTS
  • John Kettley, UM PES
  • Ruth Shabazz, Shelter Association
  • Virginia Koster, Program Administrator, Adult Services, CSTS
  • Delphia Simpson, Public Defender Manager
  • Jason Fee, Project Manager, Facilities Management
  • Barbara Levin, Bergman Community Corrections Advisory Board Chair
  • Ellen Schulmeister, Executive Director, Shelter Association
  • Julie Chaffee, Director of Community Corrections
  • Fred Fitch, Deputy Director of Community Corrections
  • Kirk Filsinger, Jail Commander
  • Sheila Blakney, Senior Assistant, Public Defender
  • Diane Davidson, Executive Director, Washtenaw Housing Alliance

Related Links