Guidance for Businesses & Organizations
UPDATED June 23, 2021
|Although previous COVID-19 prevention strategies are no longer required for most settings, the Washtenaw County Health Department strongly encourages each facility to evaluate their operations, and to follow CDC and OSHA recommendations to prevent disease spread and protect worker and patron health and safety.|
For the general public: The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) order for masks and gatherings has been rescinded, effective June 22, 2021. Masks are no longer required indoors or outdoors. There are no capacity limitations indoors or outdoors. However, masks are still recommended in certain settings.
For employees/employers: The Michigan Occupational Health and Safety Administration (MIOSHA) rules for COVID-19 have been updated, effective June 22, 2021. The new MIOSHA rules only apply to specific healthcare settings. All other industries are no longer required to screen employees, wear masks, or comply with other safety measures included in previous rules. However, businesses can continue to require masks for customers and employees and implement other protective measures, if they so choose. In addition, under state law, sick or exposed employees cannot come to work, and employers cannot discipline employees who are sick or in quarantine.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA): Recommendations for non-healthcare workplaces
Quarantine guidance for close contacts who have not been vaccinated
We recommend the general public quarantine for 14 days from their last contact with an infected person. This option is the safest for everyone. However, a growing body of data shows that the risk of illness is greatly reduced between days 11-14. Therefore, your quarantine can end after 10 days if:
- You do not develop symptoms within 10 days AND
- You continue to monitor your symptoms for 14 days.
To be clear, there is still a risk of developing an illness between days 11-14; it is simply lower than the first 10 days. Ending quarantine after 7 days and a negative COVID--19 test is not an option.
Updated quarantine guidance for close contacts who have been vaccinated for COVID-19
Vaccinated persons with an exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not required to quarantine if they meet ALL of the following criteria:
- The individual is fully vaccinated, meaning it has been at least 14 days since receiving the final dose in the vaccine series (2 doses of Moderna; 2 doses of Pfizer; or 1 dose of Janssen/Johnson & Johnson), and
- The individual has not developed ANY symptoms since their exposure.
Reporting a COVID-19 Case Connected to a Workplace, Organization or School
- To report a COVID-19 case associated with a business or agency located in Washtenaw County, please use this secure online portal.
- See our fact sheet: If an Employee Tests Positive for COVID-19
- To report a positive COVID-19 case associated with a school or childcare located in Washtenaw County, please use this secure online portal.
- To report a COVID-19 positive case associated with a summer camp, non-school affiliated sports team, or other group, please enter the information in our secure online portal.
For questions please email [email protected] or call 734-544-6700. Please leave a message if your call is not directly answered.
Business Guidance & Resources
- COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Workplaces: Answers to common questions about COVID-19 and workplace issues (what to do if an employee tests positive, etc.) - Updated June 22, 2021
- Workplace sample health screening form - Updated May 25, 2021. Facilities are not required to use this form; it is an example to use.
- Another health screening option is to use the MI Symptoms app. It is a free online tool from the state of Michigan to screen employees: https://misymptomapp.state.mi.us/
- Instructions on social distancing, self-monitoring, self-quarantine, and self-isolation
- COVID-19 Preparedness and Response Plan Template - Businesses and entities can use this template from MIOSHA to prepare a plan
- MIOSHA COVID-19 Workplace Safety Guidance - Guidelines for various industries, as well as information on filing a complaint
- Michigan COVID-19 Business Response Center - Industry-specific guidance, including building, manufacturing, retail, dining, shopping, offices, health care, and more
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Guidance on for communities, schools, workplaces, and events
- Building signs - Signs about masks, staying home if sick, and social distancing from Washtenaw County Health Department.
- Michigan law (PA 238 of 2020 and PA 339 of 2020) states that employees who are in isolation or quarantine because of COVID-19 symptoms, test results, or exposure cannot report to work. These laws also protects employees from being disciplined, discharged, or otherwise retaliated against for staying home during isolation or quarantine.
- Many employees have the right to paid sick leave or unemployment assistance when required to be in isolation or quarantine.
File a Complaint About a Business Operating in Violation of Orders
To report MIOSHA or workplace safety complaints call 855 SAFE C19 (855 723-3219) and/or file a complaint with MIOSHA.
To report a complaint about a grocery store, convenience store, or gas station, please complete this online form for the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD), which is the agency that licenses and inspects these facilities.
For local information, email [email protected] or call 734-544-6700. Please leave a message if your call is not directly answered.