The Michigan Food Law, Act 92 of 2000 (PDF) requires food service establishments to have at least one manager who is certified in food safety. To be certified, you must pass an ANSI/CFP nationally accredited exam once every 5 years. To prepare for the exam, most individuals take a class (in person or on-line) or self-study. Exams must be taken at an approved testing site, given at the end of a course by an approved instructor, or taken online with a proctor.
ServSafe® Manager Course and Certification Exam (8-Hour Course)
MSU Extension offers an 8-hour ServSafe® Manager training course and certification exam. This class is designed for anyone working in the foodservice industry, including non-profit organizations. The certification meets the State of Michigan requirements of food manager certification.
Participants must receive a 70% score on the exam to earn a certificate.
All classes run from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Lunch is on your own. You must attend all 8 hours of class to take the certification exam. Cancellations received less than 10 days prior to the class will incur a $25 late fee.
Washtenaw County Western Service Center Michigan State University Extension 705 N Zeeb Road Ann Arbor, MI 48103
If these dates don't work for you, see the MSU Extension site for additional ServSafe training opportunities.