Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) initiative

Washtenaw County's designation as a Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) is a testament to its commitment to providing comprehensive mental health and substance use services to its residents. Michigan's selection as a CCBHC demonstration site on August 5, 2020, paved the way for Washtenaw County to join this innovative program.

As a CCBHC, Washtenaw County has received $4 million in funding, which enables them to offer an array of vital services to their community. The nine services they now provide encompass the entire spectrum of behavioral health care needs. These services include:

  1. Crisis services
  2. Treatment planning, screening
  3. Assessment, diagnosis, and risk assessment, 
  4. Outpatient mental health and substance use services,
  5. Targeted case management, 
  6. Outpatient primary care screening and monitoring, 
  7. Community-based mental health care tailored for veterans,
  8. Peer, family support, and counselor services,
  9. Psychiatric rehabilitation services.

With this certification, Washtenaw is now better equipped to address the diverse needs of their community and provide a holistic approach to behavioral health care. 

Read more about how these federal funds enhance local services and supports.