The Washtenaw County Department of Veterans Affairs (WCDVA) administers the Veterans Relief Fund (VRF) which is ."..for the relief of honorably discharged members of the U.S. Armed Forces of all wars or military expeditions...and the indigent spouses, minor children, and parents of each such indigent or deceased members of the Armed Forces."

The WCDVA also provides office space and the use of office equipment to make application to the Michigan Veterans' Trust Fund (MVTF). Similar to the County VRF, the MVTF is designed to assist honorably discharged WARTIME veterans and / or their dependents who experience temporary, unforeseen, financial hardships that are determined to be emergent in nature. 

Pilot Program

Washtenaw County is currently a part of a pilot project initiated by the MVTF Board of Trustees to use a Regional Committee versus a Local Committee. The pilot will be in place from July 1, 2016 until December 31, 2016. During that time, applicants will have 24/7 access to Emergency Assistance by calling 800-MICH-VET (800-642-4838) or apply online. In addition, applicants can come into the WCDVA and receive guidance from our office Staff to call or apply online.

Wartime Dates

Wartime Dates For the VRF and the MVTF as provided by State Law (MCLA 35.61-62 / Public Act 190 of 1965):

World War I

  • April 6, 1917 through November 11, 1918 (if service in Russia, then the period beginning on April 6, 1917 and ending on April 1, 1920)

World War II

  • December 7, 1941 through December 31, 1946


  • June 27, 1950 through January 31, 1955


  • February 28, 1961 through May 7, 1975

Gulf War

  • August 2, 1990 through a date to be set by Law or Presidential Proclamation

This era includes veterans from Operations Desert Shield / Desert Storm, Operation Noble Eagle (Homeland Defense), Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF), Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF), and Operation New Dawn (Iraq).

Non Wartime Veterans

Non-wartime era veterans may also establish eligibility for the above services if they were awarded the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal or the Navy Expeditionary Medal.